Terrarium Tuesday

Image

Since I started Terrarium Tuesday, I have been waiting to feature these Lightbulb Terrariums!  Of all the terrariums that I have made or even seen, this is by far my favorite.

I start these with a layer of activated charcoal which is used to purify water and keeps the lightbulb environment cleaner longer.  Soil is added followed by 2 or 3 succulent cuttings.  I use sempervivum and jovibarba cultivars, picked for their small size.  There is a huge range of sizes in these two succulents, so picking varieties that remain small when mature is very important.

After a week or two, the succulent cuttings are rooted.  In the one above, I added a top dressing of sand a small sea shell and florist’s moss.  They are so unique and interesting.  Their small size makes them perfect for an office window or really anywhere!

Image

We sell these for $12.00 and if interested, contact us or stop by The Smiling Turtle Art Spot in Omaha to see them in person.  I hope you have a wonderful week!

-GG

2 thoughts on “Terrarium Tuesday

Leave a Reply

