Celebrations with Succulents

ImageThis past weekend we celebrated an amazing accomplishment!  My oldest sister graduated (with distinction!) from Pharmacy School.  What is even more amazing is that this is not her first doctorate degree.  She also has a PhD in Bio-Engineering.  She is very accomplished!

Image

So to celebrate this achievement and 17 years of higher education Geek Gardens had to put together something worthy of the occasion.  This centerpiece is a combination of over 30 individuals plants.  It is definitely the largest arrangement we have put together and I was so happy with the results.

Image

One of the coolest things about this is that I always see something different.  Depending on the angle that I look at it, I see a plant that I forgot I put there. Structurally, I wanted it to cascade down.  In the back, I started with blue dwarf sedum contrasting with beautifully blushing golden sedum. A number of crassula and echeveria make up the front with a fine hearty sedum filling in the gaps.

Image

She also had these simple white planters (I think she got them from IKEA) that she asked if I could plant.  She has a beautiful shelf above the kitchen sink.  Well, you don’t ask Geek Gardens to plant something for you and not expect succulents!

IMG_7977Simple and understated but definitely interesting!  I love String of Pearls, but it can be hard to find a place that they can hang from.  This was the perfect spot! Also pictured is the Burro Tail and Zebra Plant.  This is a perfect example of what I talk about in the Succulent Care section of the blog… A perfect spot for interior design, less than ideal for plant health.  She has promised that the plants can live in a suitably lit area and be moved in place for company!  We will see if someone with two doctorates can handle it!

IMG_7986e

I thought they turned out great and more importantly, she loved them!

-GG

 

3 thoughts on “Celebrations with Succulents

    1. Its funny, years ago I was really into photography and started to do it as a business. I quickly got burnt out and for over a year, I didn’t take any pictures. I was re-inspired by this blog and my plants!

Leave a Reply

